The 2016 Election: A Voter’s Conundrum

2016 is an important year for voters across the United States. We must decide for ourselves who we feel is the most suitable candidate to become the next president of the United States. What makes this election difficult though is the fact that there doesn’t seem to be any one candidate who particularly stands out from the pack and seems like they have the qualities that one might desire in a prospective president.
We have been reading articles for months about the candidates and some of their assertions have been scary to say the least. From Dr. Ben Carson’s troubling past to Donald Trump’s statements against Muslims and immigration we have seen who these people really are when they address the public in debates and interviews. I find myself at a loss to decide who I should vote for this year.
This election is one that will determine the future of our country and the changes that are made by the incoming president will affect us for generations to come. I don’t believe that any election has been more important before than this election. What makes me say this?
To start off with there have been several mass shooting incidents in recent months and alleged racial profiling by law enforcement officers. Widespread protests have occurred relating to the theme of “Black Lives Matter” and we are left dismayed at the state of our country. It is not always a country to be proud of living in with some of the corrupt acts committed by the politicians we have elected into office.
What scares me the most though are the mass shootings that have occurred in the past year. I wonder if there will be one close to home and that it will have an impact on my family and friends. It seems like these shootings can happen anywhere and that is a truly frightening thought. I don’t always feel as safe and secure as I should and that is very troubling. I can’t even begin to fathom how I would feel if someone I love was hurt or killed in a shooting.
These are just some of the thoughts and issues running through my mind when it comes to this year’s election. A strong leader needs to be elected into office who can address these issues and make the types of changes that will allow American citizens to feel like they are living in a safe environment no matter where they reside. I believe that the right candidate is out there and it just might take some time for that person to really speak up and demonstrate the qualities that would make us want to choose that person to become our next president.
I believe our country is at an impasse right now. We are struggling to cope with the violence that has erupted in the most unexpected places and the lack of new legislation that will address this issue. Something has to change and I hope that this change occurs soon before something major happens. My plea is for a good qualified leader to make the types of sweeping reforms that will mend a society tainted by violence and racial issues.
Do I think the right leader is out there? I do believe so and I think that once that leader emerges we will feel much safer and less vulnerable. Whoever is elected into office in November will impact this country for decades to come. I just hope that they really make a difference in our country not only for my sake but for the sake of all American citizens.

Leave a Reply

